Books I Want To Read Before 2019

pexels-photo-545049

Hello, lovelies! I’m Marta and this blog post is dedicated to the books I want to read before this year comes to an end. Many people have done this post on blogosphere and on Booktube as well, I think it was a theme for Top 5 Wednesday, but I’m not sure, don’t take my word for that.

As always, this is a tentative TBR list. You know me, I’m the moodiest reader out there, it will be a miracle if I read three books I mention in this post.

I still like doing posts dedicated to the books I have to read even if I fail at them because it makes me aware of what I have on my TBR shelf, what I’ve ignored for way too long, it kind of motivates me. So, I’m going to keep doing them because even if I manage to read a book from this post, I’m going to be satisfied. Don’t judge me!

Now, let’s get into the books I’d love to read before 2018 ends!

6b478bc52d2d4f6d0553f560364e5f2c

38606192#1. Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik 

This is the most recent book off this list, but it’s one that I feel I need to read really soon because the first line was very intriguing. I read it because I was very curious about the book and then felt so bad that I couldn’t continue (because the hardcover was a monster and I had to travel).

I feel like I will read it while I’m on my winter break because I’ll have lots of free time. Can’t wait for it!

fda405eba3ebe7736ee2ea0f543bbcfe

#2. Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

29640839

Ever since I’ve read You Asked for Perfect, I started thinking about how I need to read this book that has been on my radar for quite a while. It sounds amazing and it’s been recommended to me by people I trust and that cover is very cute as well!

I feel like I might read very soon because I’ve been in a cute-romances mood lately and this one seems to be it (and much more).

fda405eba3ebe7736ee2ea0f543bbcfe

9361589#3. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The day I finally add this book to my read shelf will be a miraculous day. The Night Circus and I, we have history. I’ve tried to read this one twice and I’ve never got past two chapters or something. I never seem to be in the right mood to read this book, I blame this on the fact that it starts very slowly and I’m impatient.

Please send motivational speeches, tips and tricks, anything to make me read it and stick with it until the end. Thanks!

fda405eba3ebe7736ee2ea0f543bbcfe

#4. Strange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

28449207

It’s been brought to my attention that this book has a bookish character and since then, I’ve been so excited to read the book. The thing that keeps me from reading it right this moment, probably something that keeps me from reading many books is that I feel like Laini Taylor’s books are very slow paced.

I WANT THINGS TO HAPPEN. All the time. As fast as possible.

Why am I like this?

fda405eba3ebe7736ee2ea0f543bbcfe

#5. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

23573418

Another one that everyone seems to love and I haven’t read yet. I think books that I tend to avoid are the slow-paced ones and the super hyped ones. I see a pattern here, guys. I’ve seen some beautiful aesthetics of this book on Tumblr and it made me go heart-eyes all the way because I love doing aesthetics and this book looks like heaven to the part of me that’s obsessed to

finding the right pictures for mood boards and edits.

fda405eba3ebe7736ee2ea0f543bbcfe

 

#6. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

26032825

I’ve been ignoring the hype surrounding this one for so long, I don’t think I’ll be able to do it for much longer. I’m only human, after all. Everyone on Twitter is talking about it, drawing the characters, making headcanons. It’s just too much, guys.

I’m not particularly interested in faes, but I’m going to give the book a chance because I’ve heard great things about Holly Black and I need to read something written by her. The Cruel Prince will be my choice.

fda405eba3ebe7736ee2ea0f543bbcfe

#7. Always Never Yours by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka

34092885.jpg

This one sounds so cute and light and too pure for this world that I just want to read it. Whenever winter comes, I get in the mood for light romances and this one seems to be just it.

Plus, the heroine seems to be relatable as heck. People find their soulmates after falling out in love with her? Wow. Sounds miserable, but also like something I’d love to read!

fda405eba3ebe7736ee2ea0f543bbcfe

Also, lately I feel like I can’t find something to read, which is depressing. I’d absolutely appreciate if you could comment with the books you’ve read in 2018 that you adored, so I can get excited and find some new reads that I’m actually looking forward to reading.

Thank you! 

file_002-46

Have you read any of the books on my list? Did you like them?

Recommend me some other books that I should read before the year ends!

                                            Untitled-1titled-1h1

67 thoughts on “Books I Want To Read Before 2019

    • Marta says:

      I’m really excited to read The Cruel Prince, everyone seems to have loved it and I hope it’s going to be similar for me! ❤
      Same here! I think I'm scared about not liking most hyped books.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Panda @ Panda Between Pages says:

    I know you’ve mentioned that you are in a mood for light-romance during winter, but you absolutely should read The Night Circus. It’s magical and beautiful albeit a little intense – perfect for the winter season (or any time of the year). Just bear with the slow start, trust me, things pick up soon after.

    Always Never Yours and Girl Out of Water do sound so cute! Your list looks like a great time – happy reading! 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Do you remember when it starts to pick up? Around what page? Because that will probably motivate me to keep going past that page 🙂
      I’ll try to read it soon and hopefully this time I’ll finish it as well, thank you for pushing me to it! ❤
      Thank you very much! And happy reading to you as well! ❤

      Like

  2. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    You have some incredible books on this list Marta, in fact all of the ones I’ve read are actually favourites of mine. 🙂 The Night Circus is amazing, and my ultimate favourite standalone, so I really hope you make it around to that one soon (and that you really love it too). When it comes to YA contemporary books Jandy Nelson is one of the best, and based on what I’ve read by them anything by Laini Taylor or Naomi Novik is bound to be a five star read for me! 🙂
    Great post, and I hope you make it around to all these books before the end of the year. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      OHH, that’s such high praise for The Night Circus – now I’m even more excited to read it! I don’t know why I never stick to it and finish reading it because everyone is screaming about how amazing it is!
      Jandy Nelson has a great writing style that I adore, I’ve read her other book and liked it really well. I’ve never read anything by Naomi Novik, but her stories seem very original and magical as well ❤
      Thank you so much, I hope the same! ❤
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        It takes a while to get into but it’s worth it in the end, honestly I can’t recommend it enough.
        Naomi Novik is my favourite fairytale retelling/fairytale inspired author. Anything she writes is an automatic add to my to-read list.
        That’s all right, and thanks. 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      YES, knowing that someone else wants to read it as well motivates me! Somehow, I feel like everybody else has already read it and that makes me feel very left out 😦
      I hope we will both enjoy the book! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Marie says:

    I’m crying while reading this blog post because Marta ahhhh you have SO MANY INCREDIBLE UPCOMING READS I am so excited about it. I have to scream about Girl Out of Water because well, you know me, and also this book is incredible, I adore it so very much and can’t wait to read more from the author. I’ll Give You The Sun is also one of my favorite books, Always Never Yours was ADORABLE I loved it, The Night Circus was great – even if a little confusing, at times. I can’t wait to read these!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      AHHH, don’t cry, Marie!! ❤
      I'm so excited to read Girl Out of Water, especially as I've adored You Asked for Perfect so much, it was the perfect book ever – especially for us, perfectionists 😦
      I think this list and most of my TBR lists as well are highly influenced by what you previously read, hahaha! I just trust you that much because I know we have similar tastes and if you loved them, there are such high chances that I'll adore them as well.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’m glad to hear you’ve loved The Night Circus and I’ll Give You The Sun too, I feel like they are the sweethearts of the book community, everyone loves them! I just have to read them as well to see what I think of them ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. tasya @ the literary huntress says:

    I’ve only read three books from this list: The Night Circus, I’ll Give You the Sun, and Strange the Dreamer. They are all have slow pacing and since we’re both impatient readers, just know that you need to be really really in the mood- probably carve a whole weekend to read it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      AHHHHHHH, thank you so much, Tasya for warning me about it!
      Then I’ll probably choose one to read before my winter break and then another one during the break when I have more time to read. Did you like them once you got into them? Because I remember reading 50 pages until I put The Night Circus down and it still hadn’t picked up by then 😦

      Like

      • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

        I really enjoyed The Night Circus, but I do think I understand it better during reread. There’s just so much more to discover that I think one read is not enough 😀 I also love the world building in Strange the Dreamer, but not with the romance. As for I’ll Give You the Sun, I think it’s my least favorite out of the bunch because the story doesn’t really connect with me? So pacing-wise I have no problem, it’s more of the characters and focus of the story in each book. Overall, I still enjoyed reading them though! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Danielle Hammelef says:

    I’ll Give You the Sun is one of my favorite contemporaries because of the writing (it’s lyrical, flowing, word art) and has one of the best sibling stories in YA that I’ve read so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Caro @ bookcheshirecat says:

    Good luck with your end of the year TBR! 💗 The Cruel Prince was on my list as well, as my library just got a copy and I couldn’t resist because of the hype, even though I initally planned to skip this one 😄 Still, I do want to read something by Holly Black!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thank you very much, Caro! ❤
      I've also started The Cruel Prince a few days ago or something, I didn't get to fully immerse in it because of uni work. But it looks very good!
      I hope to finish it soon! ❤

      Like

    • Marta says:

      Now that I’m finally free from college for a few weeks, I’ll totally attempt to read Spinning Silver since I have a physical copy of it. And maybe Strange The Dreamer as well, we’ll see. Thank you very much for encouraging me to read them, they sound great ❤

      Like

  7. Gayathri Lakshminarayanan says:

    I agree that winter is perfect for the light hearted romances. And I don’t even want to even write those titles, the list is too long and too scary.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. auroralibrialis says:

    I love, love, love I’ll Give You the Sun, it really is as beautiful as all the aesthetics. Strange the Dreamer and The Night Circus are wonderful too. I hope you love them all! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Aww, that makes me way more excited as you have great taste in books and I trust you a lot. I’ll try to read them sooner than later and hopefully, I’ll love them as much as you did ❤

      Like

    • Marta says:

      Thank you very much, Norrie! ❤
      I hope I manage to read at least a few of them since they've been on my shelf for quite a long time and it would feel like a great accomplishment to read even two books.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I know that feeling, I try to get over it because lately I read at least one book off my TBR lists. I call it a success since it used to be 0. Like you, I have the tendency to read something entirely different from my tbr list.
      Thank you very much! ❤
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Charvi says:

    If you are into thrillers you should definitely read books by Linwood Barclay because they start off at a great pace! Others that I would recommend are Hate List, A Thousand Perfect Notes, The Loneliest Girl in the Universe, Almost Midnight and The Dangerous Art of Blending In

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’ve never heard about Linwood Barclay, but I’ll look him up! I love the occasional thriller especially if it keeps me on the edge!
      Thank you very much for these amazing recommendations, Charvi! ❤ I've only read Almost Midnight off your suggestions and I absolutely adored it!

      Like

      • Charvi says:

        Few have heard of him. I think he is more popular in UK. Ooh yeah his books definitely keep you on the edge! Let me know whenever you read one of them 😊

        You’re welcome! Now you know you’re gonna love the rest of them too 😉💕

        Like

  10. Lindsi says:

    I literally JUST finished Strange the Dreamer, and I’ve been working on my review for tomorrow’s post. It was very, very slow in the beginning, and even when things started happening it was still subdued. There’s not a lot of action, but the world-building and descriptions are breathtaking! I love the way she describes things, but I wish they happened a little faster. The audiobook for this was over 24 hours, and it took me three library holds to finally finish it.

    The Cruel Prince was great — lots of twists! I still need to read the new Jandy Nelson book. A few of the others are on my list, too. Lovely post!

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I feel like the slowness and the breath-taking descriptions is the trademark of Laini Taylor and it’s amazing, but sometimes the moody reader in me doesn’t appreciate the slow paced books 😦
      Oh, god, 24 hours? That’s a lot, but then again I’m only getting into audiobooks and even 7 hours sound like a lot *hides away*
      I’m currently reading The Cruel Prince and really liking it, it really has soooo many twists and keeps me guessing.
      Thank you very much! ❤

      Like

  11. bookmurmuration says:

    The Night Circus is a totally wonderful world and a great book to read in the run-up to Christmas. I still have Strange The Dreamer on my bookshelves. I bought the hardback then forgot all about it. Maybe one day I’ll find out what all the hype is about.

    My big decision in the last weeks of 2018 is whether to read books for January review or take some time out and read from my shelves? Either way, it looks like a good selection. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. malanielovesfiction says:

    i relate to everything about this post ++ I can’t stand slow-paced books!!??? I NEED THINGS TO OCCUR.

    also, I wasn’t a big fan of The Night Circus (although the aesthetic was gorgeous in every way), and i think maybe the Captive Prince is over hyped???? also Strange The Dreamer isn’t the best book in the entire world, it has,,,,,,,,prepare yourself,,,,,,,

    “instalove”

    sldkjflksdjflkdsj

    ABSOLUTELY NOT. i have such a strange relationship w instalove, it either works well or it completely doesn’t, which in this case it sadllyyyyyyyy didnt

    ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a comment