Book Review: Something Happened To Ali Greenleaf

Ali Greenleaf and Blythe Jensen couldn’t be more different. Ali is sweet, bitingly funny, and just a little naive. Blythe is beautiful, terrifying, and the most popular girl in school. They’ve never even talked to each other, until a party when Ali decides she’ll finally make her move on Sean Nessel, her longtime crush, and the soccer team’s superstar. But Sean pushes Ali farther than she wants to go. When she resists–he rapes her.

Blythe sees Ali when she runs from the party, everyone sees her. And Blythe knows something happened with Sean, she knows how he treats girls. Even so, she’s his best friend, his confidant. When he begs her to help him, she can’t resist.

So Blythe befriends Ali in her attempt to make things right with Sean, bringing Ali into a circle of ruthless popular girls, and sharing her own dark secrets. Despite the betrayal at the heart of their relationship, they see each other, in a way no one ever has before.

In her searing, empowering debut novel, Hayley Krischer tells the story of what happened that night, and how it shaped Ali and Blythe forever. Both girls are survivors in their own ways, and while their experiences are different, and their friendship might not be built to last, it’s one that helps each of them find a way forward on their own terms.

Continue reading

Book Review: The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker

6f0bb587ac3b3259c375dfae20a64f59

37969723._SY475_The Silence of The Girls by Pat Barker

The ancient city of Troy has withstood a decade under siege of the powerful Greek army, which continues to wage bloody war over a stolen woman—Helen. In the Greek camp, another woman—Briseis—watches and waits for the war’s outcome. She was queen of one of Troy’s neighboring kingdoms, until Achilles, Greece’s greatest warrior, sacked her city and murdered her husband and brothers. Briseis becomes Achilles’s concubine, a prize of battle, and must adjust quickly in order to survive a radically different life, as one of the many conquered women who serve the Greek army.

 

6f0bb587ac3b3259c375dfae20a64f59

Continue reading

Book Review: Precious You by Helen Monks Takhar

mb7dde4f

52700321._SX318_SY475_

 

An obsessive power struggle between an editor and her millennial intern turns dangerous in this debut psychological thriller–for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and You.

As unsettling as it is provocative, Precious You cuts to heart of questions surrounding modern female rivalry, obsession and deceit. Helen Monks Takhar delivers an explosive take on the contemporary workplace and the disparate generations that power it, turning the professional roles women play on their heads in a razor-sharp, revenge-driven thriller for our age.

 

This review appears on The Nerd Daily as well. Many thanks to them and the publisher for providing me with an ARC of this.

12

Continue reading

Book Review: Three Women

7e56056b9d4f11457966f7f8db7dde4f

44913866._SY475_All Lina wanted was to be desired. How did she end up in a marriage with two children and a husband who wouldn’t touch her?

All Maggie wanted was to be understood. How did she end up in a relationship with her teacher and then in court, a hated pariah in her small town?

All Sloane wanted was to be admired. How did she end up a sexual object of men, including her husband, who liked to watch her have sex with other men and women?

Three Women is a record of unmet needs, unspoken thoughts, disappointments, hopes and unrelenting obsessions.

Continue reading

Book Review: A Ladder to the Sky

e4479766b3d873

39676520._SY475_

If you look hard enough, you can find stories pretty much anywhere. They don’t even have to be your own. Or so would-be writer Maurice Swift decides very early on in his career. A chance encounter in a Berlin hotel with celebrated novelist Erich Ackermann gives him an opportunity to ingratiate himself with someone more powerful than him. For Erich is lonely, and he has a story to tell. Whether or not he should do so is another matter entirely. Once Maurice has made his name, he sets off in pursuit of other people’s stories. He doesn’t care where he finds them – or to whom they belong – as long as they help him rise to the top. Stories will make him famous but they will also make him beg, borrow and steal. They may even make him do worse.

Continue reading

Book Review: If We Were Villains

f114efa3aac5ee5f60c15a0038ac69f6

30319086._SY475_

Oliver Marks has just served ten years in jail – for a murder he may or may not have committed. On the day he’s released, he’s greeted by the man who put him in prison. Detective Colborne is retiring, but before he does, he wants to know what really happened a decade ago. As one of seven young actors studying Shakespeare at an elite arts college, Oliver and his friends play the same roles onstage and off: hero, villain, tyrant, temptress, ingenue, extra. But when the casting changes, and the secondary characters usurp the stars, the plays spill dangerously over into life, and one of them is found dead. The rest face their greatest acting challenge yet: convincing the police, and themselves, that they are blameless.

Continue reading

10 Books To Read If You Like Mythology

mythology_squarespace.jpg

This has been previously posted on The Nerd Daily.

Hi, everyone! Long time no see! I’ve been so busy lately with uni and beta reading that I have ended up neglecting the blog and writing in general. But no matter how long my hiatus is, I always come back one way or another – this time it has been so long since I’ve put down my bookish thoughts somewhere that it started feeling like a void, I missed doing something that I loved so much! I don’t know how often I’m going to post, but I know that I want to write more often than I’ve been doing lately!

My first post coming back is going to be focused on mythology retellings – I’m going to give you some recommendations that I hope you will enjoy! Without much further ado…

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Wicked Saints (Book Review)

WickedSaints_BlogTourBanner_BEFORE 4.2.png

Wicked Saints_Cover FINAL

“Prepare for a snow-frosted, blood-drenched fairy tale where the monsters steal your heart and love ends up being the nightmare.” – Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself.

A prince in danger must decide who to trust.

A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings.

Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war.

In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy.

“This book destroyed me and I adored it.”- Stephanie Garber,New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

Continue reading

Women’s Fiction Prize Challenge (Part 1)

0dc6221a287ae61c2b042adecca057e6

Hello, darlings! It’s Marta and I’m back with the post I’ve promised you about Women’s Prize for Fiction. I’ve been oblivious about this award for a huge part of my life (I’m ashamed of it, really), but I thought I’d make up for this by trying to read most of the books on the longlist before the results come up in June.

I’ll update you while I make progress on my TBR – I hope to write a review for each book or at least some mini reviews if I’m going to binge-read them.

There are 16 books on that list, I’ve already read one – Circe by Madeline Miller – you can find my review here. It’s one of my favorite books of all the time, so if the other books on the list are on that level, well… I’m going to be very happy.

I’m going to tell you a little bit about what I’ve gathered from the blurbs of those books, what my expectations are and maybe I’ll persuade you to read some of the books on the list as well!

Let’s get right into it!

Continue reading