SapphicAThon Mini-reviews

fd9e85fdddeb2d1d30083ab1a309d926r

Hello, everyone! I’m here with some mini-reviews for #sapphicathon. This readathon officially ended and I managed to read a total of 5 books. I’ll write some mini-reviews for all of them (not including The Dark Wife – review here)

 

36488175.jpg

1. A Night at the Mall by M. Hollis – 3/5 stars

This one was very cute, it’s more of a novella (therefore it was very easy to read), but it also left me wanting so much more. This is my second read from M. Hollis (check out my review of Ripped Pages) and while I liked better Ripped Pages, this one didn’t let me down.

It’s a beautiful book about two girls being stuck in a mall (if it happened to me, I would have read all the books and prayed they wouldn’t come to my rescue, seriously). I wish M. Hollis continued this novella and wrote more on their relationship, especially after they got together because it was obvious the characters needed more development and depth. I would have loved to see this one as a full novel.

341090792. Lambs Can Always Become Lions  by Charlotte Anne Hamilton – 5/5 stars

This one is one of my favourites because it’s a retelling of Robin Hood, where Robin is a girl and a badass one too! We also have an already established relationship between Robin and Marian, who were the cutest (really!). There were fighting scenes, there was a lot of diversity, including a Muslim character. I adored it with all my being and I can’t wait for the sequel, I mean it, the way it ends – it makes you wonder what’s to come. What will happen next, I know that I’m very curious about how this one will continue!

 

 

26626118

3. How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake – 4/5 stars

I love how diverse this book was, but the pace wasn’t right at all. Actually, I think this book is to blame for me reading as little as I did for sapphicathon. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely adored it. But there was one aspect that frustrated me to no end and made it very hard for me to keep on reading – Grace’s mother and overall, their relationship. I just wanted to scream for Grace to stop enabling her, defend her and so on because they have been in such a vicious cycle for years and it was getting hard to watch. I was even concerned about Grace because her mom was so irresonsible, I thought she might get hurt.

 

The Story of Lizzy and Darcy by Grace Watson – 347319325/5 stars

I’m a huge nerd when it comes to Pride and Prejudice, I watched the movie and the tv series (mini tv series? whatever) and some retellings too (yes, including the web series) and this one was pretty cool. I saw some similarities between this one and the web series, actually, but they were pretty slim. All in all, I really liked it and I would definitely recommend it if you’re a P&P fan or if you enjoy hate-to-love books.

 

 

Total : 5 books

Total pages : 803

Average rating : 4.00

To be honest, I’m a bit disappointed with the fact that I didn’t read more books. It’s kind of annoying, but around the one week mark, I just got really tired and my winter break started and suddenly all I wanted to do was sleep. Then I got a cold and so on. I’m still interested in many of the books that were on my TBR and I hope I will read them as soon as my January exams are over.

Talking of January exams – I will be on hiatus most of January and during the first week of February. That doesn’t mean I won’t post – because I will have scheduled posts and everything, but I will probably not be able to reply to the comments/comment on your posts or be active on Twitter so much. I’m so sorry, I’ll miss you all so much! Wish me luck because I’ll really need it!

file_002-46

Did you take part in the sapphicathon? How many books have you read it and did you enjoy it?

8 thoughts on “SapphicAThon Mini-reviews

  1. Marie says:

    Best of luck for your exams, you can do this! Sending you all the love ❤
    I really want to read How To Make a Wish, that book sounds so good – I'm sorry to hear it was a bit hard to read, at times… hope it'll be okay for me :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • thecursedbooks says:

      Thank you very much, Marie! ❤
      Sending you all the love too and thank you for your support, I can feel it from here while I'm struggling to pick up the sixth course.
      I really hope it will be alright for you and that you'll enjoy it!

      Like

  2. ioana @dragonwaffles says:

    Good luck on your exams (yes I said it a million times and I’ll say it a million more) BAFTA MULTA (ooOo going bilingual) and you crush those grades (in a positive way ok? pls don’t actually crush anything) ❤.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thecursedbooks says:

      THAAANKS, LITTLE BEAN!!! Getting good lucks from you is never getting old or tiring, so you can say it as many times as you’d like. MULTUMESC! Ah, I really hope I won’t crush them in a bad way because I will cry hereeee!

      Like

Leave a comment