If You Like To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, Then Read…

larajean

Hello, everyone! I’m back with a recommendation post and the topic of this one is similar books to Jenny Han’s To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy. If you haven’t read the trilogy or at least watched the movie that’s on Netflix, I strongly recommend you stop what you’re doing and get on this wagon. It’s so popular for a great reason!

If you’ve already read the books and watched the movie, like I did, then you might be a bit hang up on those and maybe you’re looking for similar books to read. If that’s your case, then rest assured, I’ve got your back!

In my humble opinion, Jenny Han is the queen of fluff and her books always felt very relatable to me, in a way that not many books do. Even so, I’d attempt to recommend you a few books that have fluffy romances, the fake relationship trope (maybe in some cases, at least), a protagonist that you might relate to a lot and a love interest that is like Peter Kavinsky (sorry, there’s no other Peter Kavinsky).

larajeant copy

25486998#1. P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

This one is so cute and sweet, it has the hate-to-love trope, penpals, it reminds me of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before mostly because of the romance, the protagonist is socially awkward and shy like Lara Jean and the love interest is so much more confident and one of the popular guys.

I loved it, it’s my favorite book from Kasie West, who is definitely great at writing fluffy books.

 

09d926r

 

33275690

#2. Foolish Hearts by Emma Mills

I have a review of this one where I fangirled for some time about how great it is, you can read it here.

Gideon reminds me so much of Peter because he’s so nice and supportive of Claudia even though he’s a jock. Claudia is a girl gamer, the family dynamics are amazing, there’s sisterly love here as well, there are more friendships and it’s so fluffy. I adore it.

I don’t think I’ve heard anyone say they didn’t like this cute book. Go for it!

 

09d926r

35297272#3. Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi

I would say this is a bit more mature and not as fluffy as To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, but it’s still a very cute, romantic contemporary romance that I would recommend. A lot of their romance happens through texting, even though they’ve already met before when they start texting and they become each other’s emergency contact, being very supportive of one another through their struggles.

You can check my full review of it here. 

 

09d926r

thumbnail

#4. Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington

Bands, second-chance love, lots of angst and tension. This one reminds me more of the second book in Han’s trilogy, P.S. I Still Love You, I absolutely adored how it shifted from present where Vee and Cam are broken up and not talking, but having to be on the same reality show to the past where they used to be dating and very in love.

You can check out my full review along with a playlist for this book here.

 

09d926r

19547856#5. Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli 

The romance in this one is absolutely adorable and the book is one of my favourite ya contemporary because of how cute it is. This one also has a movie adaptation out (that I haven’t watched yet, but I’m very much looking forward to), everyone has been raving about how amazing it is.

Simon + Oreo /// Lara Jean + cookies – both of these books will make your sweet tooth worse.

 

09d926r

18667779

#6. Everything Leads to You by Nina Lacour

I’m so in love with this cover, I’ve read it a while ago, but I remember well that the romance is very soft and lovely. I adored it and I also liked the way the film industry was depicted here.

There were so many unique aspects in this book and I would totally recommend it if you’re looking for a cute romance, it’s perfect to give you those summer-y feelings. I’m still in denial about summer ending *CRY*

 

09d926r

A few books with the fake-relationship trope a.k.a the superior trope

  1. Act Like It by Lucy Parker – 4/5 stars, New Adult
  2. The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata – 4/5 stars, New Adult
  3. The Fill-in Boyfriend by Kasie West – 3/5 stars, Young Adult
  4. The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen – 2.5/5 stars, Young Adult

file_002-46

Did you watch To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before movie? What did you think about it?

What books remind you of this trilogy? 

                                         Untitled-1titled-1h1

45 thoughts on “If You Like To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, Then Read…

    • Marta says:

      Emma Mills is amazing, I’ve read Foolish Hearts and First & Then, I absolutely loved them both and I think I’ll adore This Adventure Ends and Famous in a Small Town as well because they sound exceptional.
      I hope you enjoy her books if you start any of them! First & Then is a cute, very simple Pride & Prejudice retelling and Foolish Hearts is about a girl gamer, friendships and a cute love interest. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Melina Elisa says:

    I accidentally bought the second book to the “to all the boys who I’ve loved” series, and when I wanted to read it, i held off on buying it. Now that I’ve watched the movie, the book has been sold out everywhere! I’m waiting for the next set of books to ship out on amazon. You’ve given me a nice amount of extra books to add to my wish list. Great post xx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • Marta says:

      I hope you enjoy the second book, it’s got way more drama than the first one. I loved the first one more than the second, but I still think it’s a solid trilogy and all of the books are amazing in their own way. Yay! Hope you love them! ❤
      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Melina Elisa says:

        My second book is about to come in sometime this week! So I’ll probably finish it next week and move on to the second sometime this month. I’ll let you know what I think of them when I finish them 🙂 xxx

        Like

  2. Dezzy @ The Thoughtful Voice says:

    Oh, I love this post! 💕 I really loved P.S. I Like You and Simon vs. too! They’re such fluffy and adorable books. 😍 I’m definitely going to check out the other books sometime soon; they’ve all been on my TBR for quite some time, and I really need to get around to reading them, haha.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Marta says:

      Thank you very much, Dezzy, I’m glad you liked my post! ❤
      Both of these books are amazing and I absolutely loved them too, hope you get around to reading the others I mentioned, they are all great books as well!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Thank you very much, Cora! ❤
      Ohhh, I adored You Don't Have to Say You Love Me, though I think that's more New Adult, but it was super cute and I remember loving Max so much. I haven't read Unsticky yet, though I've heard many amazing things about that one, so I might have to try.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      I’ve had a few issues with both of them, with The Way to Game the Walk of Shame – it was mostly about the girl hate and the slut-shaming that you sometimes see in the contemporary genre especially if the love interest is super popular and every girl in the high school loves him, but the MC starts off disliking him and not understanding what that is about, but then starts to fall in love with him and shames and calls the other girls names for liking him/pinning after him.
      With The Fill-in Boyfriend, it was mostly about the MC’s personality, she was super influenced by her friends and they weren’t the best group of people :-/
      But I hope you enjoy them more than I did, I just think it’s better to know those things ahead ❤

      Like

    • Marta says:

      Same here, Aurora! ❤
      There's never enough fluffy romance in our lives! YES, I definitely recommend both of these, whenever you need some fluff, they are going to give you all the feelings ❤

      Like

  3. Marie says:

    Oh these are great recommendations, on point – I loved so many of these books and definitely see how they could be similar to to all the boys! I can’t wait to read Foolish Hearts at some point, it sounds like such a great book I’d really love. I’m also curious to read more of Kasie West’s books at some point 🙂
    Lovely post! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      YES, I really hope you read Foolish Hearts soon because it’s great and it’s a super Marie-book ❤ Have you read anything by Kasie West yet? Because I've read lots of her books and I can recommend you some based on your moods and what you've read so far, if you want to!
      Thank you very much! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Marie says:

        The only book I’ve read so far by Kasie West is The Distance Between Us! She has SO many books released, it’s hard to know which ones to prioritize. I will take ALL the recommendations 🙈

        Like

  4. Lois says:

    I have a terrible confession to make. I have not read a single one of these books. Emergency Contact is at the very top of my list of contemporary novels I want to read, but I’ve found it hard getting into YA contemporary recently, which sucks cause it’s usually my summer go-to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Same here, sadly! I haven’t read any contemporaries this summer even though they used to my go-to genre for this season as well. But maybe I’ll read some winter-themed ones when it starts snowing and everything. Emergency Contact is not a summer read, necessarily, so I would say you can read it whenever. It’s a great book and I strongly recommend it to you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Well I haven’t seen the film but I’ve at least read the first two Lara Jean books (the third is on my TBR list and I’ll get around to it one day I’m sure). These are all brilliant recommendations as well. Simon Vs and Emergency Contact are two favourite contemporaries of mine, and of all of Kasie West’s books I’ve read I’ve enjoyed P.S. I Like You the most.
    I still need to read Everything Lead To You, but I’ve heard wonderful things about Nina LaCour’s writing so I’m sure it will be amazing. These all seem like brilliant recommendations, great post. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marta says:

      Ohhh, I totally recommend you watching the film because it’s absolutely great, very close to the book and Noah is an amazing Peter ❤
      P.S.I Like You is my favourite Kasie West book as well, I just adore it the most and it seems to be a bit underrated from her books from what I've seen, glad that it's your favourite as well!
      Thank you very much, Beth! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Gayathri Lakshminarayanan says:

    I loved the trilogy and the movie, so naturally am off making my purchases from your list. Someone recommended American Panda as well, so I will be checking that out as well.

    Like

  7. mahoganyread says:

    I Loved the series, did not really like the movie though … and I’m still waiting to get to find the third book! That’s a really good article! I really want to read “Emergency Contact” I need to get it, don’t know wether to buy it in English or French though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s